Salem Township Hospital Foundation Names Hospital Employee of the Year
Respiratory Therapist Kelly Cavins Wins the Annual Award
0 0
Kelly Cavins, left, receives the Employee of the Year award from sponsors Dr. and Mrs. S. Lakshmanan.
Photo by Bruce Kropp

The Salem Township Hospital Foundation has named a respiratory therapist who has worked at the hospital the past 17 years as the hospital's employee of the year.

Kelly Cavins name was announced at the Employee of the Year award ceremony held Wednesday as part of the celebration of National Hospital Week.

Foundation Chair Myron Lloyd read from Cavins nomination before announcing her name as the winner.

"Strives for excellence in the area she is working and has always improved it. She treats patients and staff with respect. She brightens the day of her patients. She improves their lives. She did this as a Respiratory Therapist and she continues to do this as Coordinator of Cardiopulmonary Rehab."

Lloyd says Cavins even helps patients through the billing process.

Cavins admitted surprise when Lloyd began reading about her.

"Really I'm just speechless. I really did not expect this. It's a great honor. I just come in and treat my patients like I would want to be treated and try to put a smile on their face. That's just the way I've done it for 17 years. I don't think I'm really any more special than anyone else in here so thank you all."

Cavins was presented a check for $750 and a personal plaque designating the honor by Dr. and Mrs. Lakshmanan who sponsor the annual award. Cavins name will also go on the large plaque hung at the hospital recognizing all past hospital employees of the year.

The other finalists for employee of the year were Stacy Allen, Lori Bryan, Mel Fitch, Amy Follett, Pam Honaker, Sheri Hopkins, Marcia Kretzer, Elaine Meares, Kendra Taylor, Connie Tierney, Betty Wood and Chris Young.

After the presentation, the Salem Township Hospital Foundation presented the hospital a $50,000 check to be used for upcoming capital improvements. The money was raised through various fundraising projects.

Left to right: Foundation members Myron Lloyd, Sandie Phillips, Chariya Tawjareon, and Susan Knapp, Hospital Interim CEO Kendra Taylor, Foundation member Barb Schoonover, Hospital CFO Teresa Stroud, and Foundation member Ola Chapman.


Leave a comment:

· Subscribe to comments
Be the first to comment here!